Yarnbombing, Dating and The New York Times

19 May

Several weeks ago  I got an inquiry from The New York Times about my yarnbombing and I swooned. The New York Times!  My father would be so happy! I had wanted to be in the New York Times but I hoped that it would happen Someday , not so soon. I savored the swoony feeling and thought pleasurably about how an article in The New York Times would probably give me everything I ever wanted.  I also had a sinking feeling that this might be  hard and end badly.

I set up a phone date with the reporter and sat faithfully by the phone  for 2 hours and waited for her to call .  She didn’t call.  I e-mailed her and she quickly responded that there had been an earthquake and tsunami in Japan and that she would call me another time . Well . Japan , yes , that did seem more important. So I waited  and waited and waited and she didn’t call, she didn’t write , despite my checking my mail  obsessively. One morning as I was staring fixedly at my e-mail I thought  “This is such a familiar awful feeling. What was it reminding me of ? “

Then I realized it . I t was just like dating. I hated dating.

It was the waiting around that I hated. So what I did when I was dating is-I picked who I wanted to date and I called him. I didn’t need to have that ” Oh he has to pick me” feeling to feel wanted.

So I gave up on TNYT and thought  ” I  don’t need them , I  am just great with out them . ” So then they called.

So I did an hour interview on the phone on the way to the airport and my teeth only chattered a little bit. I gave her a list of other people to call and flew away.

Then another really long time went by and I gave up again . After a n interminable time the reporter wrote me and said ” My editors need to know your real name or your age , one or the other. Tell us.”

Terrible-I am totally wedded to my anonymity  but I really wanted to be in TNYT. Since this was dating I cornered a girlfriend and talked her ear off for 2 straight hours and then decided I couldn’t tell them my age or name, that I would be betraying what I believed in. So I wrote a little impassioned plea for anonymity and then waited for several more weeks and heard nothing. Then I heard that the article would soon be coming out and I kept checking for it . And then it came out  And everyone I had suggested to the reporter was in it and I wasn’t.

Oh man . Rejected . They broke up with me ! And they had started it ! The reporter told me that her editors had wanted it to be more international. Oh there’s always some reason the other person has to leave you.

I hope to get over this eventually

This flowery piece is my first commission , for Harvey, who waited 7 months for it. We all wait and make others wait.

I know it seems a funny contrast to The New York Times but here are 2 good articles an AOL   P atch website.

Berkeley Patch here.

Palo Alto Patch here.

2 Responses to “Yarnbombing, Dating and The New York Times”

  1. jafagirls May 20, 2011 at 4:56 am #

    Oh poo!!!!!! Really it is the yarny troops in the field who quietly keep doing what they love that counts and makes this movement what it is.

    Love what you do.

  2. ted May 20, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Nice to see you are still in business, and expanding your vision… love your blogs and can’t wait till you get arrested… that one should be a doozy!

    You might try this one tomorrow!

    http://gizmodo.com/5803766/rapture-prank

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,948 other followers

