Kensington Circus Pole

10 Jul

This pole is part of the ongoing project to completely cover Colusa circle in knitting. I wanted to knit something a little more manly; no ruffles, the pub seeming to be a guy place. I’m always trying to make the pieces more graphic. The charming English manager came out of the pub, I got a little nervous, He looked at me and said ” What does this mean?”

I was sort of stumped by that. “Well, I want to cover all the poles here with this knitting and have the entire circle be one piece of art. And I think about each of the business’s and try and make a piece that comments on that business. I want people to come here to see it, like an art show. It started in England ” I added helpfully.

“OK” , he said thoughtfully. “I just wanted to know what it meant. People ask me’ People ask the pub manager what this means? I like that.

6 Responses to “Kensington Circus Pole”

  1. EmilyD July 10, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    We stumbled upon these poles you’ve done near the pub when we went to hear our friends play music. I love, love, LOVE what you’re doing. Public art is nice, and knitting is too but taking the yarn outside and into daily life, yet not on a human body, is supremely cool! I look forward to seeing more of your work as it progresses. Oh…and the owner of the pub is a nice guy but his deadpan manner can sometimes be off-putting. I’m guessing he likes what you’re doing and the thought that’s going into it.

  2. streetcolor July 11, 2010 at 3:15 am #

    Thank you so much- It’s very satisfying when someone gets it-the comments are the most exciting feedback

  3. Maggie's Da July 11, 2010 at 5:56 am #

    As you go ’round the Circle, I can’t wait to see what ya’ll do at the odd Chain-link fence, where the old Erich Emill garage in the older Sonocal Gas station was, across from the Colusa market! A 2-dimensional surface?

  4. kristin July 20, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    I live in the Colusa circle nabe, and my kids and I love walking around trying to spot the newest knit-covered signposts. Thanks for the color and the fun!

  5. Kate July 25, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    I see balck and white and red all over next to a newstand!

  6. EmilyD July 27, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    This is public art at it’s best! It’s a surprise blast of color and texture in the middle of one’s humdrum life. This is a wonderful gift you’re giving the public, thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

