The Rose Garden Knitting

24 Jul

I used to go to The Rose Garden when  I had to discuss something hard or wanted to start a romance. We put all our passion and admiration for the garden into these crochet roses. It’s a great thing to love a public place that you can visit year after year. After we sewed these knits up we went down and wandered among the roses. This project is making all of Berkeley my home.

8 Responses to “The Rose Garden Knitting”

  1. else July 24, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    I am thrilled by these colourful poles! thank you thank you thank you.

  2. Dave Hoffer July 26, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    Lovely. Thannks for doing this. Keep up the good work!

  3. Jenny Jo July 27, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    I love the rose garden so much! Glad it’s getting a yarny hug from you.

  4. Louise Fortmann July 29, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    Fabulous!! Thank you!!

  5. Arielle August 4, 2010 at 2:07 am #

    I saw this one yesterday! I just started knitting and my roommate and I want to join you in making street pole cozies.

  6. annie August 12, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    I love seeing these all around town! And i must say I’m very impressed with your knitting techniques. I think it would be really cool if you keep a running total of poles knitted on this blog. judging from the pictures i bet it would be an impressive number. I Also recently learned guerilla knitting is very popular with old ladies in Prague. Except they do entire signs and city buses. Inspiration to go bigger??

    • streetcolor August 12, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

      I love that-yes we do want to go bigger-looking for the perfect light pole

  7. emma August 27, 2010 at 6:47 am #

    Thank you so much for doing this! I just moved to Berkeley about a month ago. It seems that everywhere I go around town, there are always some poles with scarves.It shows how much love the city has; even for street pole! My two favorites are the ones by The Cheeseboard and Chez Panisse. I think that it is a great idea and is one of the many reasons I love it here so much!

Leave a Reply

