More Elmwood area

3 Aug

This is a series derived from a glass artist named Klaus Moje. I pick out a piece of an artist I like and duplicate their colors exactly. This takes a lot of dyeing . Then I roll out balls of the colors and knit them. This little color exercise has helped me increase  my color sense . I like to fill a whole intersection with one idea.

It’s very comfortable to sew these up, for the Russian too. We feel like we are just out in our street home , working. Today people asked us if someone was paying us to do this.No, is the answer to that one. I walked in to Sweet Temptations to get a free fudge sample. “We made you  a yarn bomb” I told the clerk.

“What!’ he shouted.
” Art” I backpedalled” We made you an art installation” . He still looked pretty dubious.

5 Responses to “More Elmwood area”

  1. Jessy August 3, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

    Beautiful colors! Hope you install several of your gorgeous work in my neighborhood in South Berkeley!

  2. lisa sibony August 19, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    absolutely delightful. thank you for making our neighborhood a little more festive and mysterious. our entire family is thankful for these colorful additions to our daily walks around town.

  3. Mackenzie August 22, 2010 at 4:25 am #

    I referenced y’all in my blog today. I love it.

    Was it you guys that did the T of THERE in oakland? I didn’t see a lable of your blog so I assume it was someone else. It’s also a different style.

  4. Mackenzie August 22, 2010 at 4:27 am #

    I’m sorry my blog is adventuremack.blogspot.com … In case you wanted to see.

  5. ellen September 26, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    i’ve been loving the elmwood installations! so great to walk around the neighborhood and see the pop of color – adds a cheery note to my early morning wait for the bus.

Leave a Reply

