Roda Theater Yarn Bombing

14 Aug

I think this is the most hard edged urban street we have done. It made the contrast to the soft, ruffled ,colorful knitting very delicious to see.I’m so glad Berkeley has these theaters. What we do is a little tiny moment of theater.

9 Responses to “Roda Theater Yarn Bombing”

  1. Darcie August 15, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    I’ve been tuning into your blog for just a few weeks. I just had to say: I LOVE what you’re doing!

    I would almost bet that you get quite an adrenaline rush as you’re stitching the yarn bombs onto the poles!

  2. Britzen August 15, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    My boyfriend is an owner of the architecture firm above raw energy and i used to work there but now visit frequently and we love the streetcolor color project! It brings a sense of scale and humanity that so many people downtown forget about in their rush up the corporate ladder. I love the vibrant colors against the pale facades, sea of dumpsters, smell of urine and dismal sunlight on the south side of the street. Shattuck ave from Dwight to derby could use a similar treatment!

  3. berkeleyscot August 17, 2010 at 4:09 am #

    Do you plan to take the knitting down when it starts to rain?

  4. streetcolor August 17, 2010 at 5:52 am #

    Do we plan to take them down when it rains? Well they are made of wool which can take getting wet. I know in East coast cities they are up all year. So I guess the answer is we’ll see how they do. They are already fading a bit, the older ones , I know they won’t last forever/ That ‘s all part of it.

  5. LindaV August 19, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    LOVE the ruffles! I’ve only happend on one of your yarnbombs so far . . . will certainly look for more!

  6. Pamela August 20, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    I work on that block of Addison, and I am a 45 year+ knitter, so yay! i love it! My boss asked me if I had done it, and I said no like maybe I had…

    I love the colorful stripes, and especially the ruffles.

    Maybe people take the cards so that they can comment? I had to go back to get your address cause I couldn’t remember it. (I did not take a card!)

  7. Jenny Jo August 20, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Love the ruffles so much!

    I lived in Berkeley for a long time, but now I’m across the country. Tuning in to your blog will be a nice way to take a tour of town. 🙂

  8. GenjiL September 13, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    I just wanted to say I noticed one of your installations by Crixa Cakes in Berkeley, and thought it was awesome! I appreciate you taking the time to make my city a bit more colorful; you have my support!

    Please keep it up! : D

  9. redconfetti September 26, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    I noticed this when I was out walking the other day. Totally awesome!

Leave a Reply

