Hit and Run Knitters in Sac. Bee Article

19 Dec

Thank you Sacramento, Sac.Bee. and Crocker Museum for all the  appreciation and puns about the yarn bombing.  You guys are so cool. I enjoyed being interviewed by Matt Kawahara, being asked a lot of questions about your passion always is exciting and stimulates ideas . Here are 10 things I like about yarnbombing.

1.Yarnbombing is free art, it sits on the street for anyone who notices.

2.Little kids like it.

3.It surprises people and gives a moment of pleasure

4.It makes the street more colorful and playful. It’s like Christmas decorations.

5.Knitters enjoy seeing their craft outside warming the poles.

6.It lets me comment on places I love.

7.It’ thrilling to go to a new place and  put up a piece.

8.We get to talk to people  on the street when we sew the pieces up.

9.Yarnbombing inspires me to want to travel all over California  to put up pieces.{any suggestions?}

10.Yarnbombing has introduced me to the amazingly fun world of blogging and bloggers and the joy of getting comments.

I would love to see anyone elses’  pictures of The 2 Crocker Museum yarnbombs, I had to take mine at night. Send to streetcolorart@gmail.com. Read the Sac.Bee. article here. Thank you!

10 Responses to “Hit and Run Knitters in Sac. Bee Article”

  1. Jenny Jo December 19, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    Love the vertical stripes! And those florets are like perfect little clouds in the sky.

    • streetcolor December 19, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

      Thank you jenny Jo I appreciate your perceptive detailed comments.

  2. SK1 December 20, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    Nicely done! I’ve added a link to your blog from mine – check out what’s going on yarn bomb-wise in Reno. You & I started out the same way, by reading Yarn Bombing =0)

    • streetcolor December 20, 2010 at 10:21 am #

      Hi Sk1 Thanks! I enjoyed your bog

  3. Margaret (Nanny Goats) December 20, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    Oh my goodness…MORE yarn bombing in Sacto? I must check this out! Thank you for mentioning my blog the other day, by the way. And I saw the article about you in the The Bee this morning. How fun this all is!

    • streetcolor December 20, 2010 at 11:00 am #

      It’s like everyone just keeps playfully tossing the ball back in the air for the next person to bat around

  4. heylo December 22, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    Shot pics of the Crocker one three weeks ago, JUST walked past the J & 10th one (zebra stripes FTW) five minutes ago. Put a surprised smile on my face on this dreary day.

    Bombers? Mission accomplished.

  5. ray January 17, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    love your stuff.i’ve been leaving street art for 40 years and you’ve taken it to another level…by the way , i make jewelry and have been leaving earrings hooked onto your knitbombs for months. most of them disappear after a while, but they last longer in under travelled neighborhood. what happened to your piece and my earrings in front of the ferry building?

    • streetcolor January 17, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

      oh my I’ve seen those earrings! I’m so pleased to know what they are! I don’t know how the ferry building pieces are-does anyone else? Streetcolor

  6. ray March 19, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    like your pieces on spruce in front of the school, love the bike rack near sauls…i figure you live near the colusa circle since it has the thickest forest of knitpoles…i used to sell my earring seconds cheap on my street sales displays, now i put them on your knitbombs…how many of you are there?

Leave a Reply

