How I make a Yarnbomb

11 Jan

Yarnbomb on Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz

This is how I make a Yarnbomb;

First I knit the piece.

No, first I dye the fiber and spin the wool into yarn on a hand spindle.

No, first I make little drawings in a notebook of my ideas.

No, first I look at fashion magazines,art books,sculpture, mushrooms,beading, Wayne Theibaud, yarnbombing,quilts,totem poles,jewelry,fused glass,Richard Marquis,Janet Morton…………….

No ,first I walk through cities looking at poles. And graffiti.

No, first I wake up in the morning excited to be alive.

Second I look for a wonderful city with an exciting neighborhood with good poles and a bakery. Then I sew the knitting onto a pole.Then I sew on a cloth label, take pictures and sit and stare at it.

Third I go to the bakery and have some cake.

This is a yarnbomb I put up on Pacific Ave in Santa Cruz in front of a  art gallery with a pleasantly Parisienne exterior.

5 Responses to “How I make a Yarnbomb”

  1. Juanita Canzoner January 13, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    I have been watching your blog for a couple months now and I am shamelessly fascinated by your ruffles. Can I ask how you make them. I haven’t figured it out on my own yet. (But I’ll keep working on it.)

  2. N January 16, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Wow, what a great way to look at the creative process, and what a creative process you have!

  3. commuknittea January 17, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    “No, first I wake up in the morning excited to be alive.” favorite line ever….I cant believe you dye and spin your own yarn…amazing

  4. Dyanna January 22, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    This is my favorite writing on your blog. ALL the pictures of yarnbombing are my favorite!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Featured Artist: Streetcolor Art | Spin Artiste - June 8, 2011

    […] than just 'Cute!'" “How to Have Fun as a Yarn bomber”, January 21, 2011 “How I Make a Yarn Bomb”, January 11, 2011 “Tips for Aspiring Yarn Bombers”, March 8, […]

Leave a Reply

