Yarnbombing Bart and Power

14 Jun

  I’ve gotten interested in how art gives us this power in  the outside world . When I first put up yarnbombing on a street I was startled by how   the street changed , the domestic  colorful knitting made the street look new .  A lot of people stopped and fiddled around with the knitting for a moment , they would get in a more cheerful state .  I thought you had to go through layers of permission to change a city-with yarnbombing you don’t.  Yarnbombing didn’t hurt anything so I continued on with my strange new power.

I wanted to knit a seat cover for the sorry seats on Bart . We are famous here in the Bay Area for our disheveled  Bart Seats .  Man , I would have loved to knit the whole train – it would have been so graffitish –  but I’m going to need some help for that .  I began riding around on the train to get my measurements.

It’s interesting to watch people on Bart , everyone is trying to stay private with their books and newspapers , ipods and knitting , looking out the window, dozing .  Everyone is trying to make things a little more pleasant for themselves .We know we have this power to make our own lives a little happier. I wanted to suggest that we have a power to make the whole train better.

Have you seen the pictures of people bringing their own chairs on Bart ? Someone had even brought a padded armchair. I thought it would be fresh if we all made art covers and put them on the seats instead of waiting patiently and numbly for Bart to meditate itself to a solution . I would love to make one hundred covers.

So I have been riding around on Bart sitting on my nice clean knitted cover .   I fold it up and carry it off  when I get home . You can make any situation better with a little art.

Some links  Eastbay Express  here

Berkeley Patch here

Yarnbomber site here

4 Responses to “Yarnbombing Bart and Power”

  1. CrochetBlogger June 17, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Your own little portable pleasant seat cover – what a great idea! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Oakland Daily Photo June 23, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    I enjoy reading your reflections and following your adventures. If you decide to yarnbomb any place in Oakland, let me know. Would love to document it on my blog.


  1. Crochet Quote: Yarnbombing | Crochet Concupiscence - June 20, 2011

    […] crochet quote is one perspective on yarnbombing. It comes from an article I enjoyed over on Streetcolor’s blog. Streetcolor does knit-based yarnbombing (not crochet) but the sentiment is of course the […]

  2. Yarnbombing BART | 511 Contra Costa - June 30, 2011

    […] is a form of removable graffiti, meant to be more fun than political. One BART rider decided to cheer up her ride with a customizer seat cozy. I had been riding the Bart train to no […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,932 other followers

