A Small Yarnbombing in Mendocino

9 Aug

 

I knit these tags last year but was overcome with yarnbombing laziness. This year I was an artist in residence at The Mendocino Art center all year and I was consumed with drawing the historic buildings in Mendocino instead of being consumed with putting knitting and felting all over them as I did in the summer of 2014.20140902-152402.jpg20140902-152151.jpg

So I drew all year and the knitting stayed in a bag. Ok too be more honest , last year I wanted to yarnbomb my Isuzu trooper and drive it around but it turns out you can’t yarnbombing a totally square car at least I couldn’t so I got very downcast about yarnbombing. So anyway it finally stopped raining in Mendocino in July and I yarn bombed this building which is The Mendocino Market where I have spent all my time eating tuna sandwiches and chocolate chip cookies and I wanted to pay tribute to all that happiness.

I had forgotten how much people like yarnbombing and how encouraging they can be. And how much I like free art that isn’t judged by moneymaking process.

 

 

 

 

One Response to “A Small Yarnbombing in Mendocino”

  1. DJ Colonel Corn August 10, 2016 at 11:14 am #

    How awesome you’re back in Mendocino !!
    I commented in 2014 when you did such a great job at arting our town !
    Great to know you got to stay at Mendo Art Center !
    We’d love more yarnbombing here !
    Hoping you get the inspiration to do it again.
    Thanks !

Leave a Reply

