Yarnbombing and Jazz , Mendocino Crayon Box Update

20140720-170503.jpg

20140720-170536.jpg

When I got the idea for yarnbombing all down the entire Main St in Mendocino , Ca I thought I was being pretty aggressive and I didn’t want the kind business owners who had given me permission to wrap their pillars to feel jostled . I carefully worked out color schemes for each building that would work well with the paint on the buildings . I especially wanted colors that would look pleasing when you walked along the street and looked past the felted pillars and saw the colors of the sea . I made many blank pieces of felt and dyed the colors . I did this for weeks . I drove up to Mendocino and we began to put the pieces up . They looked beautiful and calming .
When you walked down the street you felt and saw the crayon colors and it was all very soothing . There were many many pillars to sew up and as we kept dyeing the pieces and putting them up I got a little bored . So I started Tie dyeing them . Then I started putting in some patterns .
This was taking weeks of installation and everyone seemed fine about the installation getting more and more colorful so I began to pull out all the stops and put up really complex painterly pieces .
It was tremendously fun to make the striped and dotted pieces and as the weeks have gone by the piece that began in a very ethereal way has become very jazzy . I like that if you walked down Main Street each week all summer you would see a different piece each time . You could feel the colors like they were music steadily going along from soothing into some improvisational jazz .

20140720-170445.jpg

20140720-170425.jpg

20140720-170402.jpg

4 thoughts on “Yarnbombing and Jazz , Mendocino Crayon Box Update

  1. Pingback: Link Love for Best Crochet Patterns, Ideas and News — Crochet Concupiscence

  2. It was so awesome to come to town in the morning and see all this up !
    I found your site that day, and over the course of time had lost it… finally found it again today thanks to Google !
    Love your site, am following you now !
    All the best !

Leave a comment