Yarn bombing at the De Young museum -Installation

20141206-095548.jpg

On Tuesday I began installing for my Dec Artist in residency at the de Young Museum in San Francisco. I will be at the Kimball Gallery from Wed to Sun 1 to 5 for the month of Dec.

This residency is called Streetcoloring at The de Young . I have been getting ready and getting ready for about a year. I got the residency for my knitted yarnbombing but as the year went on I began doing installations with my handmade felt. The de Young was understanding about this so the gallery installation is my felt.

On Tuesday I began to truly understand how different installing  an indoor gallery space is from installing outside. It turns out you have to measure and center things.I also overcame my aversion to standing on very high ladders.

20141206-095607.jpg

This is not one of the high ladders

It is very moving to me to see a whole gallery full of my felt, a lot like seeing a whole street lined with my yarnbombing.

The opening is Dec 13 from 2 to 4. I recently found out that The Kimball Gallery is part of the ” free zone ” at the de Young so you can come and see me any time for free ! I recommend you come to the opening , there will be petit fours.

One thought on “Yarn bombing at the De Young museum -Installation

Leave a comment